Since 2011, the Group has introduced a number of indicators to quantify the potential impact of sites on biodiversity.

Rayong Thaïlande
Rayong site (Thailand), Thermal Systems

Location of Valeo sites

The Group’s 122 consolidated sites occupy an overall surface area of around 660 hectares, of which nearly 11% is left in its natural state. The remainder is used for buildings, traffic areas and maintained green areas.

Almost all of the land used by Valeo, i.e. over 90% of the active production sites, is located in managed urbanized or industrial areas, and the activities involved could not by their nature significantly damage any ecological process (e.g. no extraction or spraying).

In order to more accurately assess any potential impact, every year the Group carries out an inventory of sites located within, or close to, a 10 km radius of areas with protected status due to biodiversity. Twenty sites were identified in 2013: three in Asia, four in South America and 13 in Europe. Nine of the sites are in France, mainly located around areas classified as Natura 2000 or “ZNIEFF” (“natural areas of special interest for ecology, flora or fauna”). The sites in question ensure they respect requirements relating to the protected sites nearby. At the Itatiba site in Brazil, for example, located on the banks of the River Atibaia, which is an environmental reserve, Valeo has agreed, in liaison with the Brazilian authorities, to demolish buildings standing less than 50 meters from the river.

STRATEGY IN FAVOR OF PROTECTING BIODIVERSITY

In 2012, the Group introduced a specific directive about biodiversity, which was distributed across all sites. It defines the guidelines covering all the measures to be adopted to protect biodiversity during the selection, development, operation and closure of an industrial site.

As a result a large number of sites have launched biodiversity-related initiatives. The San Luis Potosi site in Mexico, for example, has initiated a reforestation program, and in 2013 it took part in three campaigns with a local university, the local city council and the industrial park at San Luis Potosi in which the site is located. The 500 trees which were planted all came from the nursery created by the site.

To find out more

自 2011 年起,集团已推出多项指标,来量化工厂对生物多样性的潜在影响。

Rayong Thaïlande
Ryong 生产基地(泰国),热系统

法雷奥工厂的位置

集团共有 122 家整合工厂,总占地面积约为 660 公顷,其中近 11% 处于自然状态,其余用作建筑区、行车运输区和维护的绿化区。

法雷奥使用的几乎所有土地(即 90% 以上正在使用的生产工厂)都位于受管控的城市化地区或工业区,从事的活动性质不能显著损害任何生态过程(例如,不能有提取或喷涂活动)。

为了更准确地评估任何潜在影响,集团每年都会确定位于或接近生物多样性保护区 10 公里半径范围内的工厂清单。2013 年确定了 20 家工厂:亚洲 3 家,南美 4 家,欧洲 13 家。其中 9 家工厂在法国,主要位于 Natura 2000 或 “ZNIEFF”(“生态、植物或动物特别保护自然区”)保护区附近。这些工厂都保证他们尊重关于附近受保护场址的要求。例如,巴西的 Itatiba 工厂位于 Atibaia 河岸边,属于环境保护区,法雷奥与巴西相关部门联系,同意拆除与河相距 50 米以内的建筑。

支持保护生物多样性的战略

2012 年,集团推出关于生物多样性的具体指令,并分发给所有工厂。它确定了保护生物多样性的指导方针,涵盖工业基地选址、开发、运营和关闭过程中采取的所有措施。

因此,大量工厂已经推出与保护生物多样性相关的举措。例如,墨西哥 San Luis Potosi 工厂发起了植树造林计划,2013 年,San Luis Potosi 工厂与当地大学、当地市议会和工厂所在的工业园共同参加了三次活动。栽种的 500 棵树全部来自工厂自己的苗圃。

更多内容